READ IN: Español

The Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) has officially elected Tom Ford as its president who will begin service on January 1, 2020.

Tom Ford - CFDA

Ford is the eleventh designer to occupy the position, succeeding Diane von Furstenberg, who has occupied it for 13 years. Before that, CFDA was in charge of great names such as Oscar de la Renta, Stan Herman and Bill Blass.

The CFDA Council, which is made up of some 23 people and includes designers such as Reed Krakoff, Michael Kors and Tommy Hilifiger, voted on Tuesday for the new president during the meeting which focused on the preparation of the next CFDA Fashion Awards Gala.

Ford, which has been a CFDA member since 2000, has won a total of seven CFDA Fashion Awards: Male Fashion Designer of the Year (2015, 2008), Female Fashion Designer of the Year (2001), Accessories Designer of the Year (2002), Board Tribute (2004), International Designer of the Year (1995) and the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award (2014).

In addition to the Ford announcement, the nominees for the awards were announced yesterday. Here’s the shortlist:

Womenswear Designer of the Year

Brandon Maxwell
Marc Jacobs
Kate Mulleavy and Laura Mulleavy, Rodarte
Rosie Assoulin
Sander Lak, Sies Marjan

Menswear Designer of the Year

Mike Amiri, Amiri
Virgil Abloh, Off-White
Kerby Jean-Raymond, Pyer Moss
Rick Owens
Thom Browne, Thom Browne New York

Accessory Designer of the Year

Jennifer Fisher, Jennifer Fisher Jewelry
Virgil Abloh, Off-White
Tabitha Simmons
Telfar Clemens, Telfar
Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen, The Row

Emerging Designer of the Year

Emily Adams Bode, Bode
Beth Bugdaycay, Foundrae
Catherine Holstein, Khaite
Heron Preston
Sarah Staudinger and George Augusto, Staud

Valentino Garavani and Giancarlo Giammeti International Award:

Sarah Burton, Alexander McQueen

Founder’s Award in Honor of Eleanor Lambert:

Carine Roitfeld

Media Award in Honor of Eugenia Sheppard:

Lynn Yaeger

Positive Change Award:

Eileen Fisher