READ IN: Español

This is the first time African talent has been honoured in LVMH’s six years. Thebe Magugu has received €300,000 for the prestigious LVMH Young Fashion Designer Award and a one-year mentoring program with the French luxury group team.

Thebe Magugu

Thebe Magugu receives LVMH Award 2019

At just 26, Thebe Magugu is the youngest candidate in the 2019 selection. But his talent demonstrates a creative maturity that makes his age matter little. The designer has overthrown the other seven finalists in front of a very demanding jury made up of personalities such as Marc Jacobs (Marc Jacobs), Jonathan Anderson (Loewe), Maria Grazia Chiuri (Christian Dior Couture), Kris Van Assche (Berluti) or Clare Waight Keller (Givenchy), among others.

Thebe Magugu, born and raised in South Africa, explores women’s femininity and strength through prêt-à-porter designs for women. The designer plays with the codes of each genre, looking for new ways to break traditional categorizations and experimenting with authentic African aesthetics, patterns and volumes. Magugu has also created the fanzine Faculty Press, where he documents South African youth culture.

Thebe Magugu

As a result of being the undisputed winner of the sixth edition, Magugu has received the opportunity of a year of learning with the French luxury conglomerate as mentor, as well as an economic prize of 300,000€. The actress Alicia Vikander, ambassador of Louis Vuitton, was in charge of pronouncing his name under the title of winner.

The awards were held at the emblematic Louis Vuitton Foundation in Paris. An event that began with a few words dedicated to the recently deceased Peter Lindbergh, a legend of fashion photography. Karl Lagerfeld also had a memorable space in the awards ceremony. Being the first edition since Lagerfeld’s death, the Jury’s Special Prize has changed its name to the Karl Lagerfeld Prize in honour of his figure and legacy. The winner was Hed Mayner, who received the sum of €150,000 and will also enjoy a year with the members of the French conglomerate as mentors.

Thebe Magugu

Winners from other years include Masayuki Ino (2018), Marine Serre (2017), Grace Wales Bonner (2016), founder of Wales Bonner, and the duo Marques’Almeida (2015). The next edition of LVMH will take place in June next year. A new edition of this essential annual event that has become one of the most eagerly awaited fashion events.